Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending May 26, 2012

May 29, 2012

Incoming late because of the holiday weekend, but better late than never:

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 357 words
  • First Draft Wordcount: 593 words

Grand Total: 950 words

I wouldn’t ordinarily be totally psyched by a week with less than a thousand words.  But I am, because I’ve been so busy lately that more than 900 words feels like a luxury.  A guilty pleasure.

I only got in time on two separate evenings last week, but they were reasonably good, productive evenings.  I was especially excited to have come up with an interesting bit of back story that hadn’t occurred to me before, but which seems like a totally natural extension of a lot of the history I’d written previously, and which helps round out some of the secondary characters in the story.  It’s a small thing, but it really helps tighten up one of the dominant themes of the novel.  It feels like things falling into place.

Back in real-world-land, this is slow, slow writing, but I’m happy to be doing it.

So tell me, how was  your week?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2012 4:45 pm

    Still no writing from me. None likely until July :( Even my blogging has suffered, but I’m still around.

    • May 29, 2012 4:57 pm

      This is sad news, to be sure. :( But hey, just a another month-ish to go. Hope whatever you’ve got going on wraps up with a positive conclusion for you.

  2. May 29, 2012 8:06 pm

    “I was especially excited to have come up with an interesting bit of back story that hadn’t occurred to me before, but which seems like a totally natural extension of a lot of the history I’d written previously, and which helps round out some of the secondary characters in the story. It’s a small thing, but it really helps tighten up one of the dominant themes of the novel. It feels like things falling into place.”

    Don’tchya love that feeling? :D

    As for me, I’m sloooooowly jumpin’ back onto the old horse… Got *some* editing done today–a change in color on the happy, shiny progress bar, at least (a new color for every percent done, you see).

    Finally. (And it actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, restructuring-wise.)

    BUT the day is still young-ish, and I’ve got nothing better to do, haha, so I’ll see if I can’t get some more work done before the roast is ready. Mmm…

    • May 30, 2012 2:50 pm

      When you’ve been away from a project for a while, whatever the reason – whether by choice or by necessity – it always feels good to get back into, doesn’t it?

  3. May 29, 2012 9:02 pm

    done a lot of writing plotting out my next novel. Full blown plot and character development. All in preparation for the start of Camp NaNoWriMo firday. Can’t wait.

    • May 30, 2012 3:45 pm

      Heh. I guess these days every month is National Novel Writing Month. This is the first year I’ve heard of “Camp NaNo”.

  4. May 30, 2012 12:30 am

    I had a good week, mostly because I had a few really great hours last Thursday. I just got on a role and wrote pretty much all of part six of Stevie One. This includes the Big Fight Scene (which I thought would be a good change of pace after the Big Multi-level Conversation scene on the last part). I had some stuff prepared for the Big Fight Scene, but I didn’t end up using any of it.

    I have no idea how many wotds it is, since it’s all handwritten. I typed up the first segment, which was 1,500 words — posted yesterday, so I think the total will be at least twice that.

    As I just talked about on my blog, I may write on Thursday and post on Sunday, but there are many rounds of editing in between.

    I even ended with a cliffhanger. I usually don’t do real cliffhangers, but an occasional one can be good.

    • May 30, 2012 4:04 pm

      A good week’s work, then, eh? Cliffhangers are like salt or spice, I imagine. They can be useful ingredients, and can really punch up the flavor of a given dish, but generally need to be used sparingly…

  5. May 30, 2012 4:40 pm

    I really lucked out, since there was an earlier fight scene (well, it was probably too one-sided to be called a “fight”), and at one point I was going to use a cliffhanger there, but it seemd too hokey so I didn’t. Then, when I got to this part, I was glad I’d made that decision, because it meant I could use a cliffhanger here. Much better than the earlier one would have been, but I wouldn’t have wanted to do it twice. It’s not that long a book. :-)

  6. June 2, 2012 9:04 pm

    Love hearing how the pieces are falling together. 8) That I am this far behind in reading this should testify to the busyness of my day to day. In that, I understand a little of your pains. No writing has yet happened, but in wrestling with the beginning I made a decision to be implemented soon, though I may have to wait until the week after next. I’m going to begin a little before the point I anticipate being the beginning. Hopefully, it will help me get rolling and then it’s merely a matter of not stopping until it’s written. I must hold my resolve not to edit at all until the first draft is complete. Time will tell if I can be more than words in that regard, but my hopes are high.

    • June 4, 2012 8:53 am

      Well… it’s not merely a matter of not stopping until you’re finished. There are a lot of things that can come up that can put a kibosh on your momentum, and it can take a lot of work to push past those. But getting over that “getting started” hurdle is probably the hardest one. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 731 other followers

