Skip to content

The WordPress 2011 Year In Review Post

January 3, 2012

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for this blog, so I thought I’d share it with you all.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Syndey Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 14,000 times in 2011. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 5 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

My Top-10 posts, by traffic, for the year were:

  1. The Self-Aggrandizing Self-Publishing Kings: Extreme Rhetoric, Inflammatory Language, and Ulterior Motives (with about 1,100 hits)
  2. JordanCon 2011 – A Pictorial Blow-by-blow (around 700 hits)
  3. Céad Mile Fáilte (an oldie-but-goodie from last year with nearly 300 hits this year)
  4. A Steampunk Society (one of my favorite posts, and another oldie-but-goodie from last year, with over 150 hits)
  5. The Maker’s Art Part 3: Creating Mythopoeia and Anthropological Artifacts (another of my favoriate posts for the year, the last in a 3-part series on the topic of Mythopoeia, also with over 150 hits)
  6. Another Perspective on Amazon as Publisher & Bookseller, Plus a Contrarian View on Disruption in Publishing
  7. Staying Motivated When You Can’t Write
  8. Dragon*Con, Decatur Book Festival, and Parade Pics
  9. The Maker’s Art Part 1: Defining Mythopoeia in the Context of Fantasy and Speculative Fiction
  10. The Further Adventures of a Precocious Toddler

My Top-10 posts, by comments (and I wish WordPress allowed me to filter out my own reply comments, which muddies the waters a bit), were:

  1. The Self-Aggrandizing Self-Publishing Kings: Extreme Rhetoric, Inflammatory Language, and Ulterior Motives (with over 50 comments)
  2. A Note on Novel Nomenclature (nearly 40 comments)
  3. JordanCon 2011 – A Pictorial Blow-by-blow (nearly 40 comments)
  4. The Tragedy of Multi-Volume Epics (over 30 comments)
  5. Literary Period Romance Fiction (30 comments)
  6. Drumroll Please (in which I announce my first professional publication)
  7. Tricksy Halfling!
  8. Finding What to Read (Part 1)
  9. Write What You (don’t) Know
  10. The Seedy Underbelly of the Digital Self-publishing Revolution Part 2

I hope you’ve enjoyed my blog in 2011 and continue to enjoy my various ruminations on writing, the fantasy & speculative fiction genres, balancing family-life, work-life, and writing-life, and the occassional post on publishing and writing careers (not necessarily in that order) in 2012.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 12:16 pm

    Cool! My self-hosted wordpress doesn’t send me the stats, but I’d have loved to have gotten some :)

    Happy new year! I’m looking forward to 2012! I hope it brings you only more writing success.

    • January 3, 2012 12:18 pm

      Thanks. I hope the same for you. As for stats… can’t you dig out roughly the same stats from within your self-hosted WordPress install?

      • January 4, 2012 1:05 pm

        Yes, but I’m lazy ;) My greatest hits list also don’t appear to be quite as interesting.

      • January 6, 2012 11:54 am

        Meh. “Interesting” posts are a double-edged sword. Sure, it looks like I get a lot hits (though obviously I can’t compare), thanks at least in part to a good number of “interesting” posts, some on topics on which oppinions are highly diverse and passionate (though I try to be just a little dispassionate, myself, on those controversial topcis). But the vast majority of my “readers” are one-time hits. They got linked to something interesting I said, most didn’t even comment on the interesting thing I said, then they moved on and promptly forgot I existed. My core of regulars hasn’t grown much over the past year – whereas it looks like yours has (at least based on the “members” widget on your sidebar). Anyway… impossible to say what will happen in 2012 (when controversial things happen, I often form an opinion, and when those controversial things overlap with the stuff I blog about, I’m likely to at least dip a blog-toe in the water and float trial balloon of my opinion), but I’m aiming toward fewer potentially contrversial posts in 2012. Which will likely cost me on hits, but I’m hoping to change out bad hits for good hits.

  2. January 3, 2012 8:13 pm

    Looks like it was a busy place around here, last here. Best wishes to you in the year to come!

  3. January 5, 2012 5:46 am

    Hey Stephen, congrats on the stats! You’ve definitely worked your blog quite closer to its potential than I have—so I doff my cap to you.

    Here’s to a fantastic 2012! *raises glass of ginger ale*

    • January 6, 2012 12:06 pm

      Dear Wife and I raised glasses of apple cider spiked with Sprite (or, to be factually accurate, spiked with Generic Brand Citrus-flavored Soda). Normally we’d have gone fancy and gotten some sparkling cider, but we were pretty unprepared for NY’s this year. Thanks!

      • January 6, 2012 9:33 pm

        Ooh…I enjoy non-alcoholic blends. That sounds like a nice one…I’ll have to give it a try one of these days.

      • January 9, 2012 9:23 am

        It worked pretty well, and was actually a fair approximation of typical bottled sparkling cider. (How fair an approximation such bottled sparkling cider is of actual champagne I can’t say, having never had champagne, nor do I particularly care to discover the answer to that.)

      • January 9, 2012 5:39 pm

        Speaking as someone who once experimentally sipped champagne at a wedding dinner, I join the citrus soda/cider camp. My limited alcohol taste test since turning legal has proven less than the hype would have me believe. In compensation, I suppose, fruit-flavored iced tea is tasting better to me all the time. *thumbs up*

      • January 10, 2012 8:35 am

        Yeah, I was exposed to some variety of beer at a rather young age. (I was not in the US at the time.) I found it to be a particularly foul-tasting liquid. At that age I was already aware of the fact that drinking alcohol could have debilitating effects and so, considering that my first exposure to alcohol was so gross, I resolved then and there never to drink alcohol. And I’ve been quite successful in that resolution.

Trackbacks

  1. 2012 In Review: Writing and Blogging « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 726 other followers

