Skip to content

Writing Progress: Week Ending October 1, 2011

October 2, 2011

So, I did some writing this week:

Story of G:

  • New Draft Wordcount: ??net new words
  • Other Notes Wordcount: 0 words

Book of M:

  • Background Notes Wordcount: 0 words

Grand Total: ?? words

I didn’t really keep track of wordcount for “Story of G” this week.  I didn’t really have time.  Because it was crunch time.  I had a semi-hard deadline of September 30th to finish all revisions and edits on “Story of G”.  I say semi-hard because I was aiming for a contest deadline: but the contest in question, Writers of the Future, is a rolling annual contest with regular quarterly deadlines.  If I missed this quarter, I could always do next quarter.  But September 30th was also the end of their contest year – meaning that if I missed it I might have to wait a whole year to find out how well I did… at least in theory.  They judge the entries quarterly, and the 1st-place winners of each quarter go on to compete head-to-head for the annual top-spot.  So that statement I made would only be valid if I actually made the top spot for the quarter I entered… You can judge the chances of that however you like.

Well… yadda yadda yadda contest deadlines yadda yadda yadda.  What about my writing you ask?  Well, I’m happy to report that I stayed busy all week and just squeaked the deadline with about an hour-ish to spare give or take.  (The deadline is midnight of the 30th… but I didn’t see where it said for which timezone.)  So… happy dance time!

Now comes the wait-and-see part.  Which is going to be a while.  Probably months.

Last time I did this, about this time last year, I ended up making the Honorable Mention list.  This time, I believe my story is better.  My honest assessment: it’s impossible to say how well I’ll do because I have no idea what I’ll be up against.  But regardless of what I’m up against, I’m confident this is at least a Semi-finalist level story, which is a couple steps higher.  If I can achieve that level, that’ll make me quite happy.

As for “Book of M”… I just missed having time to work on it this week past… I ended up writing for the blog instead.  But next week, now that I’m finally done with “Story of G”… I have no excuses.  It’s time to get cracking on “Book of M”.

So, how was your writing week?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 5:40 pm

    Congrats on getting Story of G finished and submitted, and best of luck for getting back to Book of M. :)

    • October 3, 2011 11:14 am

      Thanks! And thank you a ton for the help in getting this manuscript polished and up to scratch. I’ve certainly got my work cut out for me on “Book of M”, though.

  2. October 2, 2011 10:02 pm

    I don’t know that my numbers were all that impressive, but I hit some really rich points in my main project — plot-deepening, character-revealing stuff — so I’m happy about that. And I’ve got a new short story in the works that I hope to have finished within the next day or two; it’s for a small contest, critiques given to all entrants, so I’m looking forward to seeing how it will do.
    That’s pretty much it on my end. Good luck with Story of G! Come o-o-on, semi-finals or higher, whoot-whoot!

    • October 3, 2011 11:48 am

      That sounds like a good contest to enter – good-quality critiques can be invaluable in improving not only an individual manuscript but the writer’s overall skill level. As for “Story of G”: I tell myself I’ll be happy as long as it makes Honorable Mention again… because at least then I’m staying consistent. Truth is, I’m aiming for higher… but higher could include “Silver Honorable Mention”, which is apparently “better than HM, but not good enough to make it to the final round of judging”. But not every quarter has SHMs.

  3. October 3, 2011 4:16 pm

    Yes time to get cracking! :) I’d like to see you get your novel done, finally.

    Um as for me, bad week writing wise. I’m going to have to work really hard to get done on time. No tv, no surfing the internet at night, for the next 3 weeks.

    • October 3, 2011 4:22 pm

      Ouch. That’s harsh. But them’s the breaks, I suppose. Sometimes a writer needs to take a ‘net break in order to get some work done.

  4. October 3, 2011 7:57 pm

    Woot! Story of G is out the door. I hope it does well in the competition!

    I’m still chuggin’ away on a certain (long) chapter, which has metamorphized (<_< yeah) quite a bit since I first approached it mid-week (character interactions have deepened in ways I hadn't planned before), though I probably won't get through it all until tomorrow. I can't update my progress bar 'til it's done, though–grr!–'cause I update by completed chapter word counts, heh.

    At least I got another, smaller, chapter edited earlier in the week.

    • October 4, 2011 8:49 am

      Thanks! Hey, think of the update this way: if you’re struggling through a big chapter and haven’t updated your progress bar because of that… when you finally finish it, the progress bar is going to take a big jump forward, right? So that week you’ll appear extra productive.

  5. October 4, 2011 11:08 am

    Well…about 2.59% of my total goal, lol–but hey, it’s progress. :D

    I’m actually gonna try and finish it this morning, heh.

Trackbacks

  1. 2012: Goals, Plans, Dreams « The Undiscovered Author

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 741 other followers

